Treaty of Waitangi

Further information: The National Library, Wellington, New Zealand

The Treaty of Waitangi is the founding document of the nation of New Zealand. It was signed in the Bay of Islands on 6 February 1840 by Captain William Hobson, several English residents and approximately 45 Maori chiefs. The document signed at Waitangi was then taken to a number of other Northland locations to obtain additional Maori signatures.

Nomination submission information

Background information